College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Criminology

Faculty Profiles

Anthropology Faculty

.

Cyndi DunnCyndi Dunn

Associate Professor of Anthropology
(319) 273-6251 Bartlett 2119 
Cyndi.Dunn@uni.edu
Ph.D. (1996), University of Texas.
Language and Culture, Gender, Emotion, Japan

Carole Edginton

Carole Edginton

Instructor of Anthropology
(319) 273-2786 Bartlett 2114 
Carole.Edginton@uni.edu

Donald GaffDonald Gaff

Assistant Professor of Anthropology, Adjunct Curator, UNI Museums
(319) 273-7274 Bartlett 1121
Donald.Gaff@uni.edu
Ph.D. (2005), Michigan State University.
Midwestern Archaeology, Woodland and Mississippian Archaeology, Archaeological Theory 

Mark GreyMark Grey

Professor of Anthropology, Director, The Iowa Center for Immigrant Leadership and Integration
(319) 273-3029 Lang 221
Mark.Grey@uni.edu
Ph.D. (1989), University of Colorado-Boulder.
Immigration, Ethnic relations, Social change, Economic Anthropology, Midwestern US

Jian LiLi Jian (Lee)

Associate Professor of Anthropology
(319) 273-6128 Bartlett 2115 
Lee.Jli @uni.edu
Ph.D. (2000), University of Kansas.
Applied Anthropology, Medical Anthropology, Rural Development, Rural Health, China

Julie LowellJulie Lowell

Emeritus Professor, Anthropology
(319) 273-2786 
Julie.Lowell@uni.edu
Ph.D. (1986), University of Arizona.
Gender in Archaeology, Household and Small Community Organization, Architectural Analysis, Warfare, American Southwest

Tyler O'BrienTyler O'Brien

Associate Professor of Anthropology, Forensic Anthropology Consultant
(319) 273-2789 Bartlett 2121 
Tyler.Obrien@uni.edu
Ph.D. (2003), Binghamton University.
Physical Anthropology, Forensic Anthropology, Skeletal Biology, Bioarchaeology, Artificial Cranial Deformation, South America

Jason ThompsonJason Thompson

Instructor of Anthropology
(319) 273-2786 
Jason.Thompson@uni.edu

Anne WoodrickAnne Woodrick

Professor of Anthropology
(319) 273-6375 Bartlett 2124 
Anne.Woodrick@uni.edu
Ph.D. (1989), University of California-San Diego.
Religion, Immigration and Community, Latin America