Hannah Leffler

Instructor, Flute
MM - University of Northern Iowa
BM - Oklahoma City University

Office: 169 Russell Hall
Phone: (319) 273-2199
Email: hannah.leffler@uni.edu

A native Oklahoman, Hannah Leffler currently resides in Iowa, where she holds the position of Adjunct Instructor of Flute at Luther College, serves as flute faculty at the Northeast Iowa School of Music, and manages a private studio. Ms. Leffler will be a Visiting Instructor of Flute at the University of Northern Iowa this fall. She performs frequently with the Oklahoma City Philharmonic and is a principal substitute flutist for the Waterloo-Cedar Falls Symphony Orchestra and the Dubuque Symphony Orchestra. Ms. Leffler received a Master’s Degree in Flute Performance from the University of Northern Iowa, where she studied with Dr. Angeleita Floyd and served as her graduate assistant. After finishing her degree, she was named the winner of the UNI Outstanding Creative Master’s Thesis Award. She graduated summa cum laude from Oklahoma City University with a Bachelor’s Degree in Flute Performance and was a student of Parthena Owens. She frequently studies with Stefán Ragnar Höskuldsson, Principal Flutist of the Metropolitan Opera in New York City, and has participated in masterclasses with prominent musicians such as Walfrid Kujala, Bonita Boyd, and Leone Buyse.

In 2012, Hannah received first place in the National Flute Association’s Orchestral Audition and Masterclass Competition, held in Las Vegas at the annual convention. As winner of the UNI Instrumental Concerto Competition, she was featured as a soloist with the University of Northern Iowa Symphony Orchestra. Ms. Leffler won the James E. Saied Silver Medal at the Crescendo Music Awards and placed second at the Couer d’Alene Young Artist Competition. In addition, she was a featured soloist with the Oklahoma City University Symphony Orchestra, the Oklahoma City University Wind Philharmonic, and the Oklahoma Youth Orchestra. In 2008, she was named as a recipient of the renowned Theodore Presser Award for excellence in music and was elected into the honor societies of Pi Kappa Lambda and Phi Kappa Phi. She is an active member of the National Flute Association, where she has served on numerous committees.