down arrowMenu


First Year Council

The First-Year Council is responsible for setting the strategic direction of the first year and for the assessment, monitoring, and reporting of specified first-year initiatives and learning outcomes. While this body is strategic in nature, it is understood that curriculum control is not granted to this body. Leadership of the Council resides jointly in the divisions of Academic Affairs and Students Affairs with appointments made by the Executive Vice President and Provost and the Vice President for Student Affairs in consultation with others as described below.

The Council meets once monthly or more frequently as needed. Given the collaborative structure of this body and the broad scope of its objectives, the Council will invite participation and input from a broad range of faculty, staff, and students in the achievement of its goals.


Susan Roberts-Dobie, Co-Chair 
Leslie Williams, Co-Chair 
Inez Murtha, Academic Learning Center & Diversity Council Representative 
David Marchesani, Academic Advising 
Jenny Connelly, Admissions 
Linda Corbin, College-based Academic Advising 
Lyn Redington, Department of Residence 
Kristin Woods, New Student Programs 
Dale Cyphert, CBA Faculty College Representative 
Gretta Berghammer, CHAS/HFA College Representative
Doug Shaw, CHAS/CNS Faculty College Representative 
Kris Mack, CSBS Faculty College Representative
Leila Rod-Welch, Rod Library & Faculty Senate Representative
Deirdre Heistad, Liberal Arts Core Committee Representative
Kim Brislawn, University Marketing and Public Relations Representative
Kristin Moser, Institutional Research Representative
Nadia Korobova, International Students and Scholars
Ann Krois, Student
Blake Findley, Student
Donna Vinton, Director of Academic Assessment
Chris Denison, Wellness & Recreation Services Rep.
Jim Wohlpart, Interim President