What are the distribution area requirements?

The BLS degree program does not have a traditional major. Rather than having a single area of focus as you would with a traditional major, BLS students choose courses in three of the five distribution areas.

To satisfy a distribution area, you must complete 12 semester hours with at least 6 of the hours designated as upper-level. The five distribution areas are:

  • Humanities 
  • Communications & Arts
  • Natural Sciences & Math 
  • Social Sciences 
  • Professional Fields

All of UNI's Guided Independent Study courses fit into one of the five distribution areas. View a list of all upcoming courses that apply to the BLS degree