ICA Awards


Award Nomination Process

Each year the Iowa Communication Association acknowledges the achievements of its members with awards: The Iowa Communication Association Citation Award, the Outstanding New Teacher Award, and in 2007, the newly created Outstanding Adjunct Teacher Award. The criteria for these awards and past recipients are listed below.

To recognize the excellent scholarship in our undergraduate and graduate programs in Iowa, the ICA Executive Board established a Top Student Paper Award in 2007. The top graduate and undergraduate paper are each honored at the convention with a cash award, certificate, membership in ICA, and publication of the top papers in the edition of the Iowa Journal of Communication. A fund has been established to support this award thanks to the generosity of Melissa Beall. This fund was renamed in 2009 as the ever Frank George Westphal Student Paper Award, Westphal??s daughter and ICA member Yvonne Fielder will match funds donated to the ICA scholarship in 2009, up to $250. If you wish to contribute to the ICA Top Student Paper award fund, please write a check to ICA??s executive secretary Barb Schmidt.

Outstanding New Teacher Award Nomination

Outstanding Adjunct Teach Award Nomination     Top Student Paper Competition

Student Academic Recognition Award Nomination

ICA Award Winners

Outstanding New Teacher      Outstanding Adjunct Teacher Award

Citation Award      Alumni Award

Frank George Westphal Award

ICA History | ICA Constitution | Officers | Awards | Conferences | Journal | Membership | Newsletters