Dress and Human Behavior | Annette Lynch

Annette Lynch

Dress and Human Behavior

TEXDSGN 4015: Dress and Human Behavior

Spring 2019 

Annette Lynch (annette.lynch@uni.edu) 

Faculty Office:  237 Latham, 273-2358 office hours 11 to 12 noon MWF and by appointment 

Required Texts: 

Holt, D. and Cameron, D. (2010). Cultural Strategy: Using Innovative Ideologies to Build Breakthrough Brands. Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press. 

Required Events:

Students are required to participate in the Interactive Opening for the Humanize my Hoodie exhibition at the Rod Library on Tuesday January 22nd from 6 to 8 PM. They are also required to participate in the Empowerment Brand Uprising Magazine Photo Shoot from 4 to 6 on Tuesday, February 5 and the Empowerment Brand Pitch Presentations for Uprising Magazine 4 - 6 PM on Tuesday March 5. If unable to attend the opening of the exhibit, students are required to go to the Interactive Closing of the exhibit on Friday, February 22nd from 6 to 8.

Course Objectives

1.  Recognize that dress is a complex social process and a revealing form of human behavior.

2.  Approach dress as a means of understanding self, social interaction, and society.

3.  Identify factors within the social context that influence dress choices and affect the meaning of the dressed body.

4.  Become attuned to the symbolic functions of dress and its importance within the communication process.

5.  Observe how people use dress and appearance in daily life to organize and give meaning to social experiences.

6.  Recognize cross-cultural diversity and commonality of dress patterns and consider implications of globalization of dress practices.

7.  Apply feminist theory and concepts to the study of dress and appearance styles.

8.  Become acquainted with research focused upon social and psychological aspects of clothing and textiles. 

Course Requirements and Grading System

Exam 1

20%

 

Exam 2

20%

 

Uprising Photo Shoot and Brand Pitch Presentation

20%

 

Brand as Empowerment Project (individual project)

20 %

 

Final Exam Portfolio Pages and Presentation of Cultural Strategy                                          

20 %

 
     

Class Policies

Attendance Policy: Students are expected to be at all class sessions. It is the instructor's philosophy that classes should be attended to receive full credit for a college level course. Attendance roll will be taken and penalties assessed for excessive missed classes, medically excused or not. The following penalty schedule will be applied in the class:

More than 5 classes missed: Loss of One Full Letter Grade

More than 7 classes missed: Loss of Two Full Letter Grades 

More than 9 classes missed: Failure (F) in the course.

 Assignments - Assignments are due in class on the due date. Any work not turned in on time will be marked one grade lower. After the first late week, two grades lower.

Exams - Students who must miss an exam due to extreme illness or other emergency must contact me in advance of the exam if possible.

Student Assistance:

The Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA) provides protection from discrimination for qualified individuals with disabilities. Students with a disability, who require assistance, will need to contact the Office of Disability Services (ODS) for coordination of academic accommodations. The ODS is located at 213 Students Services Center. Their phone number is 319-273-2676. Students should also feel free to contact the professor if there are accommodations that can be made.

Students are encouraged to use The Learning Center @ Rod Library (formerly The Academic Learning Center) for assistance with writing, math, science, reading and learning strategies.  Meet with trained and certified tutors during walk-in hours or by appointment.  For more information, visit us in person on the main floor of Rod Library, on the web at tlc.uni.edu or by calling 319-273-6023.

 

Tentative Schedule

Monday, January 14

 

Introduction to course and projects

 

 

Wednesday, January 16

Kennedy Elliott Guest Speaker: Uprising Magazine Co-Editor

Presentation of Empowerment Branding Project Collaboration with Uprising Magazine. 

Friday, January 18

Sociological Approaches to Studying Dress and Appearance

Identity Ambivalence and Embodied Resistance as Fashion Fuel

Davis, Chapter 2 (distributed in class)

 

Monday, January 21

NO CLASS MLK DAY

 

TUESDAY, JANUARY 22: 6 - 8 PM REQUIRED!!!

HUMANIZE MY HOODIE INTERACTIVE EXHIBIT

 

Wednesday, January 24

Psychology of Dress and Appearance

 

Lecture on Cognitive Psychology

Friday, January 26

Stylizing Empowerment: Kangol Cool Case Study

 

Kangol Cool: Stylized Hats and the Performance of Black Dandyism (distributed in class)

 

Monday, January 28

Insider/Outsider driven empowerment strategies, discussion, preparation for take home exam question handed out Wednesday

 

Wednesday, January 30

Stigmatized Identity - 

 Fat Hairy Case Study, handed out in class

Friday, February 1

Cultural Construction of Power through dress

David Bowie Video, Masculinity Case study handed out in class

 

Monday, February 4

Class prep for photo shoot: Practice Session

 

TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 5 (Required)

Uprising Magazine Photo Shoot: Empowerment Branding 4 -6 PM

 

Wednesday, February 6

Anthropological Approaches to Studying Dress and Appearance

Meaning Manufacture and Movement in the World of Goods

 

Grant McCracken, Chapter 5 & 9 (distributed for reading first day of class)

 Friday, February 8

Consumption, Change and Continuity

Grant McCracken cont.

 

Monday, February 11

Insider/Outsider driven empowerment strategies, discussion, preparation for take home exam question handed out Wednesday

 

Wednesday, February 13

 Take Home Exam Review

 

Friday, February 15

Exam Review

 

 

 

Monday, February 18

 Exam 1

 

Wednesday, February 20

NO CLASS: Faculty at Conference

 

Friday, February 22

Humanize My Hoodie - Closing Event - 6 - 8 (attend if unable to go to opening)

 

 

Monday, February 25

Cultural Branding Strategies to Create Change, Introduction to Text 

Holt, Chapters 1 & 9

 

Wednesday, February 27

Assign Uprising "Pitch Project" Project: Applying the Cultural Strategy Model

Holt, pages 195-201

Friday, March 1

Questions and Answers: Brand Pitch Presentations

Exam 1 Returned

 

 

Monday, March 4

Brand Pitch Portfolio Pages Class Review Day 

 

Tuesday, March 5

(Required)

Empowerment Brand Pitch Presentations: Uprising Magazine 4 - 6 PM - Maucker Union

 

Wednesday, March 6

Nike: Reinvention of the American Dream

Holt: Chapter 2

Friday, March 8

Jack Daniels: Mythologizing the Company Holt: Chapter 3

 

Monday, March 11

Ben and Jerry's Provoking Ideological Flashpoints

Holt, Chapter 4

Wednesday, March 13

Starbucks, Trickle Down Cultural Codes

Holt, Chapter 5

Friday, March 15

Patagonia:

Crossing the Cultural Chasm

 Holt, Chapter 6

 

SPRING BREAK

Monday, March 25

Vitamin Water: Creating a "Better Mousetrap" with Myth

Holt, Chapter 7

Wednesday, March 27

Marlboro: The Power of Cultural Codes

Holt, Chapter 8

Friday, March 29

Review: Cultural Innovation Theory

 Holt, Chapter 9

 

Monday, April 1

Clearblue Pregnancy Tests: Branding a New Technology

 Holt, Chapter 10

Wednesday, April 3

Fat Tire Beer: Crossing the Cultural Chasm

Holt Chapter 11

Friday, April 5

Fuse Music TV: Challenging Incumbents with Cultural Jujitsu

Holt, Chapter 12

 

Monday, April 8

Freelancers Union: Branding a Social Innovation

Holt, Chapter 13

Wednesday, April 10

Exam Review

 

Friday, April 12

Exam Review help Session

 

 

Monday, April 15

Exam 2

 

Monday, April 17

Individual Presentations of Projects

 

Friday, April 19

Individual Presentations of Projects

 

 

Monday, April 22

Return of Exam 2

 

Wednesday, April 24

Individual Presentations of Projects

 

Friday, April 26

Individual Presentations of Projects

 

 

Monday, April 29

Individual Presentations of Projects

 

Wednesday, May 1

Individual Presentations of Projects

 

Friday, May 3

Questions and Answers: Final Exam Portfolio Pages and Paper

 

 

 Final Exam - Monday, May 6 - 10 - 11:50 AM