Annette Lynch

Dress and Human Behavior

Dress and Human Behavior

Fall 2017

Annette Lynch

Faculty Office:  237 Latham, 273-2358 office hours 10:45 AM - 12:15 PM T TH, and by appointment

 

Required Texts:

Holt, D. and Cameron, D. (2010). Cultural Strategy: Using Innovative Ideologies to Build Breakthrough Brands. Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press. 

Required Events:

Students are required to participate in the Engage, Empower, Act: Cedar Valley Diversity and Inclusion Conference at UNI on Friday, October 13.

Course Objectives

1.  Recognize that dress is a complex social process and a revealing form of human behavior.

2.  Approach dress as a means of understanding self, social interaction,  and society.

3.  Identify factors within the social context that influence dress choices and affect the meaning of the dressed body.

4.  Become attuned to the symbolic functions of dress and its importance within the communication process.

5.  Observe how people use dress and appearance in daily life to organize and give meaning to social experiences.

6.  Recognize cross-cultural diversity and commonality of dress patterns and consider implications of globalization of dress practices.

7.  Apply feminist theory and concepts to the study of dress and appearance styles.

8.  Become acquainted with research focused upon social and psychological aspects of clothing and textiles. 

Course Requirements and Grading System

Exam 1 20% of grade
Exam 2 20% of grade
Engage, Empower, Act fashion as empowerment strategy project 20% of grade
Brand as Empowerment Project  20 % of grade DUE: April 28 (Stages 1-5)
Final Exam Portfolio Pages and Presentation of Cultural Strategy                                           20 % of grade DUE: Beginning of Final Exam
100%

 

Class Policies

Attendance Policy: Students are expected to be at all class sessions. It is the instructor's philosophy that classes should be attended to receive full credit for a college level course. Attendance roll will be taken and penalties assessed for excessive missed classes, medically excused or not. The following penalty schedule will be applied in the class:

More than 5 classes missed: Loss of One Full Letter Grade

More than 7 classes missed: Loss of Two Full Letter Grades 

More than 9 classes missed: Failure (F) in the course.

 Assignments - Assignments are due in class on the due date. Any work not turned in on time will be marked one grade lower. After the first late week, two grades lower.

Exams - Students who must miss an exam due to extreme illness or other emergency must contact me in advance of the exam in order to arrange a make-up assignment.  Your make-up assignment will be a 20 research paper in the content area of the exam. 

Students with Special Needs:

The Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA) provides protection from discrimination for qualified individuals with disabilities. Students with a disability, who require assistance, will need to contact the Office of Disability Services (ODS) for coordination of academic accommodations. The ODS is located at 213 Students Services Center. Their phone number is 319-273-2676. Students should also feel free to contact the professor if there are accommodations that can be made.

 

 

Tentative Schedule

Monday, August 21

 

Introduction to course and projects

Psychology of Dress and Appearance, cognitive pyschology

 

 

Wednesday, August 23

Anthropological Approaches to Studying Dress and Appearance 

 
Friday, August 24

Meaning Manufacture and Movement in the World of Goods

Consumption, Change and Continuity

 

Grant McCracken, Chapter 5 & 9 (distributed for reading first day of class)

 

Monday, August 28

Sociological Approaches to Studying Dress and Appearance

Davis, Chapter 2

Wednesday, August 30

Identity Ambivalence and Embodied Resistance as Fashion Fuel - Exploring theory and Case Studies

Holt, Chapter 1

Friday, September 1

Masculinity, in Motion

Derrick Williams

Parker Bennette

 

Monday, September 4
Holiday
 
Wednesday, September 6
Guest Lecture, Russian Acrtic Chic  
Friday, September 8  

 

Monday, September 11


Wednesday, September 13

Friday, September 15  

 

Monday, September 18
 
Wednesday, September 20
 Exam Review
Friday, September 22

 

Monday, September 25
 Exam 1
Wednesday, September 27

Cultural Branding Strategies to Create Change, Introduction to Text and Project

Holt, Chapters 1 & 2
Friday, September 30

 

 

Monday, October 2

Mythologizing a Company: Jack Daniels

Ben & Jerry's: Provoking Ideological Flashpoints

Introduction to Project

Holt, Chapters 3 & 4
Wednesday, October 4

Starbucks: Trickling Down Cultural Codes

 Patagonia

Boxed In Identity In Class Project

 

Holt, Chapter 5 and 6
Friday, October 6

 

 

 

Monday, October 9

Applying the Cultural Strategy Model,

Crossing the Cultural Chasm In Class Project

Holt, Chapter 9
Wednesday, October 11

Applying the Cultural Strategy Model,

Cultural Capital Trickle Down in Class Project

Holt, Chapter 10 (Clearblue Pregnancy Tests)
Friday, October 13

Engage, Empower Act conference

 

 

Monday, October 16

Stylizing Empowerment: Formation of groups, Group discussion and Report Back

 Assignment: Styling/Designing for Change

Applying Cultural Tactics:

Resuscitating Reactionary ideology & Mythologizing the Company in Class Project

Holt, Chapter 11 (Fat Tire Beer)

Wednesday, October 18

Applying Cultural Tactics:

Challenging Incumbants with Cultural Jujitsu in Class Project

Holt, Chapters 12 (Fuse Music), 13 (Freelancers Union),

and 15 (Levi's 501s in Europe)

Friday, October 20

 

 

 

Monday, October 23
Presentations: Mapping the Cultural Orthodoxy & Documenting a Social Disruption In Class Project

All Class Powerpoints due in class (print off)

Presentation Day 1

Wednesday, October 25
Presentations: Mapping the Cultural Orthodoxy & Documenting a Social Disruption in Class Project
 Presentation Day 2
Friday, October 25    

 

Monday, October 30

Assign: Unearth Ideological Opportunity: Detail how this disruption is impacting a specific category of consumers

In Class Group Project

 
Wednesday, November 1

Cull source material, research your subcultural group

In Class Update and Share with Class

Friday, November 3

 

 

Monday, November 6

Apply Cultural Tactics.

Craft the Cultural Strategy

Wednesday, November 8

Individual Meetings: Brand as Empowerment Project

 
Friday, November 10

 

 

 

Monday, November 13 Individual Meetings: Brand as Empowerment Project
Monday, November 15
 Exam 2, Exam Review
Friday, November 17  

 

Thanksgiving Holiday, November 20 to 24th

Monday, November 27
Exam 2  
Wednesday, November 29
Individual Meetings: Brand as Empowerment Project
Friday, December 1
Individual Meetings: Brand as Empowerment Project 
Monday, December 4
Wednesday, December 6
Friday, December 8

 

 Final Exam:- Monday, December 11, 10 to 11:50 Porfolio Pages Due, Presentation in Class