Fashion Show Production | Annette Lynch

Annette Lynch

Fashion Show Production

Fashion Show Production

2:00 PM, MWF

Office Hours: 10:45 AM to 12:15 PM, Tuesday and Thursday

Faculty Office: 243 Latham Hall, 273-2114

Center for Violence Prevention: 219 Sabin, 273-3054

Required Special Event:

TAPP Catwalk 22, Rehearsal Friday, April 25, Runway Show, Saturday, April 26

Required Textbooks:

Everett, J. C. & Swanson, KK. (2004). Guide to Producing a Fashion Show. New York: Fairchild Publication

Course Objectives:

  1. To enable students to do a situational analysis of fashion marketing problems which define objectives that can be attained through advertising and promotion.

  2. To develop planning and process skills utilized in developing marketing communication strategies for promoting institutions and products at different market levels of the fashion industry.

  3. To develop methods and systems for doing critical analysis and evaluation of advertising, publicity, special events, and visual merchandising as a function of marketing.

  4. To provide realistic experience through hands-on assignments related to fashion promotion and advertising.

Attendance Policy

Students are expected to be at all class sessions. It is the instructor's philosophy that classes should be attended to receive full credit for a college level course. Attendance roll will be taken and penalties assessed for excessive missed classes, medically excused or not. The following penalty schedule will be applied in the class:

  • More than 5 classes missed - loss of one full grade in course (for example A to a B)

  • More than 7 classes missed - loss of two full grades in course (for example A to a C)

  • More than 9 classes missed - failure (F)

Assignments

Assignments are due in class on the due date. Any work not turned in on time will be marked one grade lower. After the first late week, two grades lower.

Exams

Students who must miss an exam due to extreme illness or other emergency must contact me in advance of the exam in order to arrange a make-up assignment. Your make-up assignment will be a 20 page research paper in the content area of the exam.

Students with Special Needs

The Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA) provides protection from discrimination for qualified individuals with disabilities. Students with a disability, who require assistance, will need to contact the Office of Disability Services (ODS) for coordination of academic accommodations. The ODS is located at 213 Students Services Center. Their phone number is 319-273-2676. Students should also feel free to contact the professor if there are accommodations that can be made.

Tentative Schedule

Monday, January 13

Introduction to Course Content

Watch Catwalk from the past

Wednesday, January 15

Catwalk 22: Planning the Big Show

The Greatest Show On Earth

Friday, January 17

Formation of Groups

Work Day

 

Monday, January 20

Martin Luther King

No Class

Wednesday, January 22

Group Work Day

 

Friday, January 24

Idea Sketch Presentations: Different Kinds of Fashion Shows

Group Presentations

 

Monday, January 27

Lecture: Merchandise and Model Management

Guide, Chapters, 1 - 3

Wednesday, January 29

Lecture: Music and Props

Guide, Chapters 4 - 8

Friday, January 31

Group Work Time

 

 

Monday, February 3

Introduction: Leadership Roles, Application Process

 

Wednesday, February 5

Group Work Time

 

Friday, February 7

Group Work Time

 

 

Monday, February 10

Group Presentations

 

Wednesday, February 12

Group Presentations

 

Friday, February 14

Group Presentations/Leadership Introduced

 Committee Group Explained

Monday, February 17

Lecture in prep for exam

 

Wednesday, February 19

Lecture in prep for exam

 

Friday, February 21

Committees assigned

 

 

Monday, February 24

Committee group work time

 Contracts developed

Wednesday, February 26

Committee group work time

 

Friday, February 28

Exam Review

 

 

Monday, March 3

Exam 1

 

Wednesday, March 5

Work Day: Catwalk 22 work groups

 Contracts due

Friday, March 7

Group Work Day

 Contracts Due

 

Monday, March 10

Group Reports

 

Wednesday, March 12

Exam 1 Returned

 

Friday, March 14

 

 

 

Monday, March 24

Catwalk 22 Workday

 

Wednesday, March 26

Catwalk 22 Workday

 

Friday, March 28

Catwalk 22 Workday

 

 

Monday, March 31

Catwalk 22 Workday

 

Wednesday, April 2

Catwalk 22 Workday

 

Friday, April 4

Catwalk 22 Workday

 

 

Monday, April 7

Catwalk 22 Workday

 

Wednesday, April 9

Catwalk 22 Workday

 

Friday, April 11

Catwalk 22 Workday

 

 

Monday, April 14

Catwalk 22 Workday

 

Wednesday, April 16

Catwalk 22 Workday

 

Friday, April 18

Catwalk 22 Workday

 

 

Monday, April 21

Catwalk 22 Workday

 

Wednesday, April 23

Catwalk 22 Workday

 

Friday, April 25

Catwalk 22 Rehearsal

NO CLASS

Saturday, April 26: Catwalk 22

Monday, April 28

Catwalk 22 Debrief

 

Wednesday, April 30

Catwalk 22 Notebook Workday

 

Friday, May 2

Catwalk 22 Notebooks Due/End of Class

 

FINAL EXAM: Monday, May 5, 3-4:50

CATWALK 22 DEBRIEF, Take Home Analysis Due