Iowa Collegiate Mathematics Competition

Posted on Monday, April 8th, 2013
Ben Castle, Derek Hofland, Wes Keene

UNI participated in the 19th Annual Iowa Collegiate Mathematics Competition on February 23, 2013.  Six students formed two teams for three hours of problem solving.  UNI was represented by Ben Castle, Wes Keene, Huy Nguyen, Emily Stumpff, Mark Sabotta, and Derek Hofland.

Twenty-four teams representing nine colleges and universities took part.  This year's problems were particularly challenging, but a good time was had by all.

The team "Gabriel's Horns", consisting of Ben Castle, Derek Hofland, and Wes Keene, scored 74 points out of 100 which was good enough for third place.  As the highest placing team not from the hosting institution, they have won UNI the honor and convenience of hosting the competition next spring.  Congratulations, gentlemen!