The National Alliance

The Department of Mathematics at UNI is a founding member of the Alliance for the Production of African American Ph.D.'s in the Mathematical Sciences (APAAPMS) - a group which was formed in 2001 and whose members were Florida A&M University, Jackson State University, Alabama A&M University, Iowa State University, the University of Iowa, and the University of Northern Iowa.  In 2005, the Alliance expanded its target group to include students from all underrepresented groups in the U.S.A.  The name of the Alliance was changed to the National Alliance for Doctoral Studies in the Mathematical Sciences (NADSMS) to reflect the expanded program.  Both the APAAPMS and the NADSMS were founded by grants from the Mathematics Division of the National Science Foundation (NSF).  The NADSMS grant expired in August 2010, but the NSF granted the Alliance a one-year no-cost extension which extended the life of the grant to August 2011.

In the last two years, the Alliance has gone truly national and now includes over 80 colleges and universities across the country.  More information on this project is available on the National Alliance web site.