Advancing diversity at UNI

The University of Northern Iowa hosted the annual Diversity Town Hall on Wednesday, Jan. 22. This event gave students, faculty and staff the opportunity to learn about UNI's advances in diversity and take part in strategies to continue to grow a rich, educationally diverse campus.

Diversity Town Hall
Diversity Matters award recipients. Back row from left to right: President Ruud, Gloria J. Gibson, Kathy Green, Bryant B. Dowd, Alicia Jessip, Regina Dixon-Reeves and Terry Hogan. Front row from left to right: Paul Sapp, Samantha Swanson, Nick Sullivan and Victoria DeFrancisco.

Keynote speaker Regina Dixon-Reeves, a specialist in faculty diversity development at the University of Chicago, led the UNI community in a conversation about the pillars of increased retention of diverse students, faculty and staff.

Diversity Matters Awards were presented during the conclusion of the Town Hall event. The 2014 Diversity Matters award recipients are:

• Nick Sullivan, director of Student Support Services

• Kathy Green, director of University Health Services

• Samantha Swanson, UNI sophomore majoring in elementary education

• Bryant B. Dowd, record analyst in the Office of Admissions

• Paul Sapp, admissions transfer coordinator in the Office of Admissions

• Gloria J. Gibson, executive vice president and provost

• Alicia Jessip, UNI senior majoring in communication and Spanish

• Victoria DeFrancisco, professor of communication studies

For more information about the Diversity Town Hall or the Diversity Matters Awards, visit