Student Accolades Archive

Three UNI graduating students have received the Lux Service Award for their exemplary service to the university: Daye Pope, a political communication major from Clear Lake; Kayla McCormick, an exercise science and sports psychology major from Caledonia, Minn.; and Ramya Varadaraju, a computer science major from India.  

Electronic media student Isaac Campbell won five Awards of Achievement at the 23rd Iowa Motion Picture Awards for his documentary "Aspire," (co-directed with electronic media graduate Glenna Goldman) and for "Ghosts," "Bravi", "Such Men Lived" and "Colts Recruitment." The Iowa Motion Picture Awards recognize outstanding creative and technical achievement in Iowa's moving image production industry in a statewide competition held annually.

Electronic media graduate Cassandra Milbrandt's documentary film "Nolan" received the Award of Excellence in the Student Production category in the 23rd Iowa Motion Picture Awards 2014. The Iowa Motion Picture Awards recognize outstanding creative and technical achievement in Iowa's moving image production industry, in all its forms. The Award of Excellence is its highest  award. "Nolan" tells the story of Milbrandt's brother Nolan, who is autistic.

The UNI American Marketing Association completed the Blue Zones Project™ Organization Checklist. The pledge actions they completed include offering healthy food options at meetings, , hosting well-being and educational events, promoting volunteer opportunities and helping members find their purpose through workshops and career-oriented goals.

Physics majors Courtney Keiser, from Mason City and Corbyn Mellinger, from Center Point, will present their research at the annual March meeting of the American Physical Society in Denver, Colo. This is the largest physics meeting in the world. It attracts approximately 10,000 physicists, scientists and students.

Jessie Nemesi, a junior and a member of UNI's chapter of Pi Sigma Epsilon (PSE), Epsilon Theta, was named the National Collegiate Vice President. This role on the National Council is the highest student position within Pi Sigma Epsilon.

Three UNI students were recognized during the annual Alliance Management Institute for their poster session presentations. Students who received first place awards for undergraduate research: Liz Meysenburg, a leisure, youth & humans services major from Urbandale; Emily Kriegel, a communications major from Grinnell; and Shelby Vraspier, a leisure, youth & humans services major from Iowa City.

Camp Adventure Child & Youth Services was presented with the Nonprofit of the Year Award, during the Nonprofit Leadership Alliance Conference held in Chicago. The award is given to an organization that demonstrates leadership and commitment to supporting the preparation of the nonprofit workforce through their partnership and support of the Nonprofit Leadership Alliance.

 The UNI Construction Management Club competed in Las Vegas at the Associated Builders and Contractors National Student Construction Management Competition Nov. 6. The Club placed second in the Safety Division of the competition and fourth overall after many rigorous assignments and presentations.

The UNI chapter of the Society of Physics Students (SPS) has been recognized with an Outstanding Chapter Award from the SPS national office. This honor is only bestowed upon 10 percent of chapters nationally.

Edgar Guzman, a senior majoring in manufacturing technology: metal casting, won the second place award in the Vahradian Technology National Competition for Technology Students during the Annual Conference of the Association for Technology, Management and Applied Engineering (ATMAE) held in New Orleans in November.

On Nov. 5, Michelle Czarnecki and Ellie Hail, second year graduate students in the Post Secondary Education: Student Affairs program, won the case study competition at the 2013 National Association of Student Personnel Administrators (NASPA) IV-East Regional Conference.

Aaron Baughman, a senior from Denison majoring in manufacturing technology: metal casting, won the UNI Elevator Pitch Competition. He will test his elevator pitch against college students from across the U.S. at the National CEO (Collegiate Entrepreneurs' Organization) Conference Elevator Pitch Competition in Chicago.

Johnale Jackson, a senior accounting and actuarial science major from St. Louis, Mo., and Jake Kopriva, a senior management major from Clear Lake, were on the winning teams for the 2013 Okoboji Entrepreneurial Institute, which took place in August at the Iowa Lakeside Laboratory in West Lake Okoboji.

Brian Hoyer, a junior majoring in management, won the Iowa Recycling Association's 2013 Recycler of the Year award for himself and his company, Recycle Rite.

UNI men's basketball, men's golf, women's golf, women's cross country and women's volleyball teams have been recognized by the NCAA for their latest multi-year Academic Progress Rate (APR) scores – the most for a single school in the Missouri Valley Conference.

Six UNI real estate students recently won the NAIOP Commercial Real Estate Development Association's 2013 University Challenge. Bringing home first-place honors were Tyler Siegworth, Shay Trask, Eric Bohnenkamp, Gabe Tovar, Eric Caldwell and Keegan Wilkening.

UNI athletic training students had a 100 percent pass rate on the Board of Certification exam in April, beating the national average of 70 percent.

In its first College Entrepreneurs Organization (CEO) Startup Simulation Competition, UNI Entrepreneurs placed third in the nation. The team of Jenna Abel (marketing), Mitchell Phillips (finance) and Trevor Carlson (psychology) finished with about 95 percent of the total possible points -- a mere couple points away from being crowned champion.

UNI's Student Chapter for Construction Management earned third place in the safety category at the Associated Builders and Contractors (ABC) 13th annual Student Chapter Construction Management Competition.

Two UNI interior design students earned national honors during the National Durkan Competition. Libby Hurder, junior, won first place and MaTrasa Phillips, sophomore, won third place.

Angela Wrage, a senior chemistry and biology major, received the 2013 National Security Education Program (NSEP) Boren Scholarship. She was one of 161 selected from a pool of 947 applicants.

Sons of Jacob Synagogue, a documentary directed by Francesca Soans, communication studies, and Dr. Robert Neymeyer received the Award of Excellence for Directing by the Iowa Motion Picture Association. The film was also recognized for the Award of Excellence for Soundtrack Audio Mix to Tom Barry, School of Music; Award of Achievement for Original Music Score to Rebecca Burkhardt, School of Music; Award of Achievement for Visual Effects to electronic media students Brandon Poll and Grant Atherton; and Awards of Achievement for Editing and for Documentary to Soans and Neymeyer.

The UNI Speech Team qualified 10 students in 34 events at the American Forensic Association National Individual Events Tournament (AFA-NIET) in Kansas. The AFA-NIET is the most selective and competitive collegiate national speech tournament. This is one of the largest contingents UNI has sent to AFA-NIET in the tournament's 35-year history. The team placed 10 out of 78 teams in team sweepstakes.

UNI received a STARS gold rating in recognition of its sustainability achievements from the Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education (AASHE). This is the second STARS gold rating UNI has received since 2011.